The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles maintains the official online portal for obtaining official Florida law enforcement agency crash reports:
Florida’s Official Crash Portal – note: you will be leaving the Sheriff’s Office website.
Personal identifying information in motor vehicle crash reports is confidential and exempt from disclosure for a period of 60 days after the crash report is filed (section 316.066(2)(a), Florida Statutes). During the 60-day period, access to personal identifying information in crash reports is limited to eligible parties only (section 316.066(2)(b)). Obtaining confidential information which you are not entitled to is a felony violation (section 316.066(3)(c)).
In order to obtain a crash report, you must pay DHSMV the statutorily required fee of $10.00 per report, plus an additional $2.00 convenience fee for each payment transaction (section 321.23, Florida Statutes). Customers are limited to a maximum of 10 reports per transaction.
- Reports become available online immediately, and must be downloaded within 48 hours of the request.
- A download link will be sent to the email address provided at the time of request.
- Crash reports are provided as a Zip file containing PDF files.
- Search results may not contain reports on crashes which occurred within the last 10 days. Pursuant to Florida statute, law enforcement agencies have 10 days to submit crash reports.
- The following forms of payment are accepted for online transactions:
- Please be advised that all online payment transactions will include a non-refundable $2.00 convenience fee.
- Requestors must qualify for immediate disclosure of a crash report pursuant to one or more of the conditions below:
- Party involved in the crash
- Legal representative of a party involved in the crash
- Licensed insurance agent of a party involved in the crash
- Insurers of parties involved in the crash or insurers to which they have applied for coverage
- Person under contract to provide claims or underwriting information to a qualifying insurance company
- Radio or television station licensed by the FCC
- Newspaper qualified to publish legal notices under sections 50.011 and 50.031, Florida Statutes
- Free newspaper of general circulation as detailed in section 316.066(2)(b), Florida Statutes
- Prosecuting authority
- Local, state, or federal agency that is legally authorized to have access to crash reports
- A Victim Services Program, as defined in section 316.003(100), Florida Statutes
- Interested party not meeting a statutorily defined exemption